Merry Mermaid Stockings

Can’t tell you how much we love having our nieces and nephews visit!  We see them mostly during spring breaks or summer vacations, but, because we live in Southern California, sometimes they’ll swing by during Thanksgiving and Christmas just to get a break from the cold.mural

The room the kids stay in while visiting is beach-themed, with this giant tropical mural on one wall. I’ve been mulling over Christmas decorations to go with the theme – so they can enjoy their visit to warmer climes and celebrate the holiday at the same time.

All of which led to these quilted mermaid stockings…mermaidstockings

That is sequin stretch fabric, folks.  Or should I say sequin s – t – r – e – t – c – h fabric. Not the easiest fabric to work with if you are used to 100% quilter’s cotton.  But, hey, I’ve been saying I need to s – t – r – e – t – c – h my quilting skills! 🙂

I bought a special scalloped ruler to do the quilting on my long arm, though the lines on the tails are freehanded.  That was a lot of work, so I kind of cheated on the backs – they are un-quilted fleece.  I bound everything with additional sequin stretch – extremely carefully cut – and the trim is a mix of white feathers and green gathered mesh.

I’m really looking forward to decorating the kid’s room during the holidays this year.  I’m thinking a Christmas tree with beach ball ornaments, some twinkly lights, maybe a garland in the blues and greens of the sea.  But the highlight is sure to be these merry mermaid stockings!

Leave a Reply

