Quilt Bucket List 4 – It’s a Party!

They say two’s company and three’s a crowd, but four?  Four’s a party! So grab a beer and let’s party down with my 4th annual Quilt Bucket List!

bucketbeers-copyEvery National Quilting Day, I revisit the quilts on my “bucket list” – those quilts I want to finish before I move on to the great sewing room in the sky.  The list keeps getting longer, so I suppose I won’t be going anywhere soon…

It’s a party and we’re here to have a good time, right? So let’s get the bad news out of the way – none of my bucket list quilts got finished during the last year. In fact, I didn’t do a single stitch on any of the quilts I mentioned in Quilt Bucket List III: Attack of the Seam Ripper.

Which means my Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy quilt, my Monk-inspired quilt, my One in a Minion quilt and my Steven Tyler memorial quilt (Steven Tyler my cat, not the Steven Tyler the rockstar) are all still chillin’.

That’s not to say I didn’t make any quilts for myself in 2016; I did.  It’s just that those quilts weren’t even a gleam in my eye last National Quilting Day.  But sometimes you just need to go with the creative flow, resulting in the addition of these beauties to my personal collection –

Having a lot on my to-do list has never stopped me from adding more, though, so I’ve invited a few new quilt ideas to the “must make before I go” party.  Please give a big quilty welcome to

Made in March Quilt ~ For the past two basketball seasons, I’ve been working on a Kansas University Jayhawk quilt only during March Madness.  My hope is to finish it during the 2017 tournament – Rock Chalk! 

RIP TV Quilt ~ My modern, laugh-in-the-face-of-death take on the famous Kentucky graveyard quilt featuring favorite TV characters who have passed away (including all 4 of Lisa Simpson’s cats)

Sew Geeky Quilt ~ Pulling together my love for sci-fi television and my love for quilting, this one features a LOT of appliquéd pop culture /slash/ sewing puns (like Captain Picard’s classic, “Make it sew.”)

All three of these quilts are in progress, but who knows what I’ll actually finish this year?  Maybe a bunch of fabulous new quilt ideas will turn this little shindig into a surprise party for 2018, too. 😀

I’d love to know what’s on your quilt bucket list.  Please share in the comments; I respond to every one. And let’s leave this post with the slightly modified advice of blues – and party – legend Stevie Ray Vaughn…  

If this sewing machine is a rocking, don’t bother knocking – just come on in!

 

 

 

 

One comment

  1. Pingback: Black and White and Warm All Over | Snip-Itz

Leave a Reply

