It’s a Tea Cozy on Steroids

I’ve had my long arm sewing machine since mid-2012.  That means for 4+ years I’ve been saying to myself, pretty much daily, “Hmm, it’d be nice to have a cover* for this to keep the dust out.” But, while I’d identified the problem long ago, I never did anything about it.  Until now…

contraptioncozy

I bought 2 yds of the seam ripper fabric for another project that never materialized (heh, heh – get it? the “fabric” project never “material”-ized. I crack myself up.)  Given the size of my long arm, I needed a minimum of 2.5 yds, so that’s how the orange got added.  Now I’m super happy I didn’t have enough to work with – that accent is the perfect touch!

An online search found directions from HandiQuilter to create a dust cover for a Avante 18 (my model) but they really weren’t that helpful, except as a jumping off point.  The Quilt Kisses tutorial for creating a sit down machine cover was great (many, many thanks for posting that!) though I still had to figure out my own measurements.

I’m calling it a tea cozy on steroids because it ended up so big.  I mean so big that it just sagged under it’s own weight when I first placed it on the long arm.  So, while you can’t see it, there’s actually a corrugated plastic support structure along the top to keep it from drooping (it’s held in place with Velcro dots.)

If I had to guess, I’ve probably spent 24 hrs of my life just cleaning dust off my long arm.  It might not sound like much in total, but every minute spent cleaning is one minute less quilting!  No more!  Now I can just whip the cover off and get to the fun stuff right away…

 

*I searched online occasionally to see if HandiQuilter sold a cover, but they never have.  Seems a missed opportunity.

2 comments

  1. Jasmine @ Quilt Kisses

    Your cover looks fantastic. I also love the orange accent. The added plastic underneath is a great idea. I’m so glad you found my tutorial helpful. Plus the cutout for the rails looks great. I always wondered how to adjust the pattern for a longarm.

Leave a Reply

