A Little Organization to Start the Year Off

I have two sewing spaces in my home – the sewing room upstairs and a little cart downstairs.  It’s a nice set up because I can work on small projects in the evenings while watching TV without having to disturb my regular Whimzie Quiltz activities. But as I started work fresh in the new year, I noticed both areas had gotten messy. (Oh, we’re all friends here, I won’t lie… things were out of control!)

For upstairs, the solution turned out to be a washi tape organizer (on sale at Michaels!) Turns out that 100+ small thread spools (most of mine are Sulky and Gutermann) which had been just tossed in a drawer, fit perfectly.  Now all my appliqué thread options are easily viewed and color coordinated.

threadholder

For downstairs, the problem was I had amassed a large collection of secondary quilt tools.  They, too, were just randomly tossed on the cart. To organize everything, I decided to make a wooden display.  It has holes drilled on top, one for each tool, and a wooden “pocket” on the front to keep my smallest Omnigrid ruler.  (The metal “inspire” embellishment coordinates with the galvanized steel chicken feeder pincushion I made two years ago.)

deskholder

Even though these were just two small organization efforts, I’m feeling much more together now and ready to face 2017’s quilting projects.  Bring ’em on!

 

Leave a Reply

