Reindeer Quilts Are Better than People

My last quilt of 2016 was finished just in the St. Nick of time!  Whew.

reindeernames

It was fun to once again be working on a holiday quilt during the holidays.  And since it is for me, I kind of used this one to practice a few new techniques.

The first is pretty obvious – I chose Moda’s Spell It With Fabric patterns for the letters. Not easy, and very time consuming, but still fun to see all the names come together.  I combined the names with some reindeer fabric I had in my stash to make the quilt a bit wider.  There wasn’t much of this fabric  left, so I was thrilled to design a quilt that would squeak by with just what I had available.

reindeernames2

I also did some fancy free motion quilting on the border. My inspiration was this Holly Leaf Tutorial from The Inbox Jaunt.  I discovered her by accident, but Lori has some fantastic machine quilting ideas over there on her blog and I’m a follower now for sure.

The final technique I tried out for the first time here is trapunto!  I couldn’t get a picture to show it well enough, but there is some extra batting behind Rudolph’s red nose “O” that makes it pouf out delightfully.  Well, delightfully to me, since my first stab at this stuffing technique actually worked!

I’m calling this one Santa’s Subway, partly because it’s a subway sign and partly because reindeer are Santa’s “ride”.

Merry mass transit, y’all, merry mass transit! 🙂

Leave a Reply

