Love Me True

While putting the final stitches on 2016, I realized a few Whimzie Quiltz projects from the year didn’t get posted. This one is from October…

2016 was quite the year for love in our house as we celebrated two weddings in our extended family.  For both, I made variations of Buggy Barn’s “Heart Crazy” quilts for the happy couples.

lovemetrue

elvisWhile the first was more traditional, I got to have a little fun with this quilt because the bride and groom wanted a Elvis-themed Las Vegas wedding. I chose this fabulous “early Elvis” fabric for the backing and picked colors for the hearts on the front based on all its bright pastels. Don’t you love how setting them on a scrappy black background makes them pop?  It’s exactly what the Vegas strip should look like in fabric. 🙂

After reviewing pretty much the entire Elvis music catalogue (and getting quite a few songs I hadn’t thought about in years stuck in my head), I settled on “Love Me True” for the quilt name.  The lyrics seem perfect for a couple just starting the rest of their lives together…

Love me tender
Love me true
All my dreams fulfilled
For my darling I love you
And I always will

Congratulations Aaron & Stacy!

Leave a Reply

