The Grinch’s Heart isn’t the Only Thing Growing 3 Sizes Around Here

I love pretty much all versions of the Grinch story*, but the original book holds a special place in my heart.

So when I was putting together all my Grinch-themed holiday decor I wanted the book itself to take center stage.  But the version you read from is pretty small and I was hoping for more impact.  So, just like the Grinch’s heart, I grew it 3 sizes…

giantgrinchbook

Well, almost 3 sizes.  The original store-bought book is approximately 8 x 11 inches.  My version of “How the Grinch Stole Christmas” ended up being 20 ½  x 24 inches, not quite 3x, but definitely big enough to make the impact I hoped for!

To make the big book, the first thing I did was scan the front cover of the little book and have it printed as an oversized photo at Shutterfly.  It needed a bit of trimming to fit, but that’s easy peasy.

I used two thin sheets of foam core for the front and back covers, wrapping them with a solid green fabric to make it look like a vintage children’s book (I even finagled a way to have a small gap between the covers and the spine like hardback books have :D)

The middle pages part is a wider piece of foam core with the edges covered in waterproof adhesive tape, the kind you get from the drug store to adhere bandages. It has a lined feel that gives the edges the look of a stack of paper (and, unlike electrical tape,  which I also considered, it doesn’t stretch.)

MY finished GIANT book now sits in a decorative cubby in the entryway to our home – welcoming everyone who visits.  And if you want to read the story, I’ve still got the smaller version, which will fit comfortably in your hands while the story warms your heart – whatever it’s size!

 

*****

*Except the live action movie.  As the late, great movie critic Roger Ebert commented, it’s a “dank, eerie, weird movie” and I completely agree.  Not Grinch-y at all!

Leave a Reply

