Quilt Bucket List III: Attack of the Seam Ripper

It’s Worldwide Quilting Day – woot! woot!  As has become tradition here at Snip-Itz, I’m using the this day as an opportunity to revisit the list of quilts I want to finish for myself before I die, my “Quilt Bucket List”, as it were.

If you would like to read my original post on this topic, you can find it here and last year’s update is available here.  But with no further ado, Quilt Bucket List III: Attack of the Seam Ripper

seamripperdie

FADE IN

INT. SEWING ROOM – NIGHT

It’s cold.  Our protagonist, DEIDRE, mid-40s, covered in thread from a long day sewing, is looking to rest by the fire.

DEIDRE

Which of the quilts I finished last year should I curl up with?

There’s my Sherlock inspired “Home Sweet Holmes” quilt, with the life-size door from 221B Baker Street.  Or the “Out of the Blue” quilt I made because of my love of Doctor Who – vworp vworp, indeed.  Or maybe I should visit the Grinch with my “Down in Who-Ville” quilt.  Who says Christmas must come only once a year?

strip

Making her choice, she sits in a nearby chair.

DEIDRE

I had so much fun creating these 3 quilts! I’d been planning them for a long time, so finally finishing them feels great. But with these done, I have room on my list for a couple of new projects. What to start on next?

DISSOLVE TO…

MONTAGE

  • Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy design featuring the phrase “Don’t Panic”, with terry cloth toweling for the back (of course)
  • A Monkinspired quilt created with 10 blocks designed to look like suit jackets in brown tweed (and yes, they will be perfectly pieced.  It’s a blessing and a curse.)
  • Using Spell-It with Moda letter blocks, a March Madness pattern showcasing NCAA basketball tournament phrases (i.e. Final Four, The Big Dance)
  • A Mermaid quilt of clamshell blocks – maybe shaped to resemble a mermaid tail instead of the traditional quilt rectangle?

BACK TO SCENE

DEIDRE

Wow!  That’s a lot of new quilt ideas!  And it doesn’t even take into account the One in a Minion quilt, the memorial quilt for my beloved cat, Steven Tyler, the I ❤ Ewe sheep quilt and the Merry Mustache quilt – all projects I’ve already started to some degree.

She starts to stand.

DEIDRE

Well, I better get busy if I want to finish all these before I die. Ha, ha!

Walking towards her sewing machine, the camera pans over her shoulder.  In the shadowy corner of the sewing room, a giant seam ripper slowly turns towards her…

OMINOUS MUSIC

FADE OUT

THE END

One comment

  1. Pingback: Quilt Bucket List 4 – It’s a Party! | Snip-Itz

Leave a Reply

