A Timey Wimey Quilt Post

TardisIn 2014, I created a Doctor Who quilt for a customer called “Warmer on the Inside” featuring a large Tardis on a Gallifreyan script background.   A fan of the show myself, I loved every stitch on that quilt and as the time to ship the finished piece grew near, making a Doctor Who quilt for just for me became my next goal/slash/obsession.

vworpEach quilt I make is unique, so I didn’t want to just repeat the same Police Box design.  I began looking for inspiration to create my own Doctor Who quilt, looking through lots of fan art online.  Fortunately in my quest, I came across this cross-stitched bookmark created by DaleksTeahouse.  Her clever disappearing Tardis pattern was perfect – having already made one giant Tardis in fabric, I knew making multiple smaller ones would be a fantastic challenge.  And who doesn’t wish they could hear the “vworp vworp” of the Tardis engines coming for them just once?

“Out of the Blue” was finished just in time for the 2015 Christmas special, The Husbands of River Song.  At 60″ x 75″, it’s a mixture of machine appliqué in the letters and piecework in the Tardii and background.  I chose four marbled blue fabrics to provide the gradation of color and lots of white-on-white prints to give the background depth and (relative) dimension.

vworpvworp

102_0110Deciding the appropriate quilting took a long time, but ultimately I ended up with an all over swirl that seems very timey wimey (you can see it a little better in the close-up image to the right.)  The letters are echo-quilted and each Tardis is stitched-in-the-ditch to emphasize the various police box elements.

I wanted a very special backing for this quilt.  Luckily, I came across a quilt shop owner designing her own line of time travel-inspired material.  The back is from Scarlett Wells’ “Through Time and Space” line from Anthology Fabrics.  I can’t thank her enough for letting me know when the fabric was going to be re-released so I could snap some up!

If I could go back in time, I wouldn’t do anything different, except maybe finish this quilt sooner.

If I could go forward in time, I’d love to see myself curled up with this quilt, watching new Doctor Who adventures, years and years in the future.

Vworp vworp…

***

When I finished, I shared a photo of this quilt with Sarah over at DaleksTeahouse.  This is her lovely reply – Doctor Who fans are the best!

Thanks so much for sharing that with me! I’m really happy and flattered to know that I inspired someone to make something awesome. I love the way this looks. I don’t see quilts very often, and I don’t know the first thing about making them, so this is really neat! I hope it keeps you warm through many future episodes of Doctor Who.

Leave a Reply

