A Quilt that Was Simply Meant to Be

I like being a fan.

I like watching TV shows and sporting events. I like following showrunner blogs and reading fandom forums. I like DVD extras and unauthorized histories and feeling like I’m part of something larger than myself.

And I love it when customers are fans, too. Whenever I’m contacted about making a custom Whimzie quilt with a fandom theme, I get extra excited.

I’ve had Game of Thrones and Disney quilt design requests and I’ve made Star Trek and Doctor Who custom quilts. But Nicole W.’s request for a quilt based on “The Nightmare Before Christmas” was a first for me.

Hopefully it won’t be the last, because I had a wonderful time immersing myself in “TNBC”, as it’s affectionately called, and coming up with the perfect quilt for her.

The Nightmare Before Christmas Quilt

Because there were so many elements I wanted to include, a row quilt seemed the ideal choice. I machine appliqued Jack Skellington, the main character, on the top row.

The movie logo, including Jack and Sally in silhouette, and Oogie Boogie appeared in the middle row.

Heroine Sally, represented as a rag doll in the movie, became a row of crazy quilted fabrics across the bottom (with a cute little image of Zero machine appliquéd there, too.)

A black and white striped row and coordinating borders – with just a splash of Christmas red! – pulled everything together.

Nicole shared with me that she wanted a large quilt, big enough for her and all her friends to cuddle up under while they watched their favorite movie. Hopefully, they can, as the lyrics to Jack and Sally’s song go, “sit together, now and forever” under this very cool Nightmare Before Christmas quilt.

My dearest friend, if you don’t mind,
I’d like to join you by your side
where we could gaze into the stars
and sit together, now and forever,
for its is plain, as anyone can see,
We’re simply meant to be.

2 comments

  1. Hannah

    First off…WOW!!! I’m so in awe of your creative design here and beautiful workmanship. Wow!!! I’m curious how you appliquéd on this quilt. Did you stitch over the letters or turn under? There’s so many tiny pieces with the title! How long did this take you to make? I’m in complete admiration!!!

    • whimziequiltz

      Thank you so much, Hannah! – of all the quilts I’ve made, this one of my favorites. All the images, even the letters, are done in satin stitch appliqué. I’ve done a bit of turn under appliqué in the past and those letters would have been a nightmare using that technique (pun intended :D) Because I make custom quilts full time, this order didn’t take as long as you might think, about a month actual sewing time. Since you seem like a fan of the movie, you might like the quilted Jack and Sally pillows I just made myself, too… appreciate you stopping by my blog!

Leave a Reply

