A Rush Order

Although 2015 started slow, I’ve recently had a run on baby quilts – 13 requests to date, with several I had to turn down because I was already committed to other custom quilt projects.

But then Kayla O. contacted me about creating a custom baby quilt for her sister, even though there was less than a month before the baby was set to make her debut and I already had an order underway. Kayla shared several reasons for wanting to present her sister and new niece a quilt, an extremely touching story that literally made me cry for the first time since I started custom quilting.

I couldn’t say no. I HAD to find the time. And I almost did.

Baby Everly made her debut 1 week early; I finished her beautiful baby quilt 24 hrs later.

Grey Damask Baby Quilt

We were trying to coordinate with a grey and white French-inspired nursery. I loved working with the delicate grey shades in this quilt – the dove damask of the wide outside border is especially lovely. 3-dimensional prairie points around the edges add not only to the design but may help with the little one’s hand/eye coordination (I know, I know. I include them on baby quilts almost all the time. But they really are a nice touch, especially when the overall quilt is such a simple pattern like this one.)

Everly on her Whimzie quiltKayla sent me a photo of newborn Everly on her custom Whimzie quilt. She’s a treasure. I think the rush on this order was worth it, don’t you?

Leave a Reply

