Giant (6pts) Scrabble (14pts) Tiles (5pts)

I kind of love Scrabble… If I’m not quilting, you can usually find me playing Scrabble instead. I own something like 7 versions of the game, from travel to deluxe, and my current winning streak against the computer version on my phone is 369 to 0. So when I saw giant Scrabble tiles floating around on Pinterest, it was a triple word score of an idea for me…

Giant Scrabble Tiles

I bought the 6″ x 8″ wood pieces to save time, but it would be just as easy to cut a 1″ x 6″ to the right tile size. I also belt sanded the edges to make them more authentic.

Printing the letters off the computer using a 6″ x 8″ template helped standardize the look. I used the classic “pencil lead on the back” tracing method to transfer the images to the wood blocks.

I thought about painting in the letters, but decided to go with a Sharpie so I’d have maximum control, especially for the really thin numbers designating the score. There was a bit of bleeding this way, but nothing I couldn’t live with.

After a couple of days to make sure the Sharpie dried, each tile was stained with an oak color stain and varnish in one. Pouncing on the stain instead of wiping kept the Sharpie from bleeding even more (as an added bonus, the darker color of a thick, pounced layer looked more realistic, too.)

OOKI wanted these to hang flush on the wall and trying to make keyholes with my Dremel SO did not work. Luckily, I found some interesting one-step picture hanging nails from OOK at Home Depot and was able to finagle them into working (that’s a whole story in itself!)

These now decorate the wall at the top of our stairs. Previously, this was just a nearly blank wall, but needing to access the thermostat kept me from putting up a nice quilt. With the tiles fitting around the thermostat, it’s still functional but way prettier! And, if you notice, I still snuck the word “quilt” in there (for 14 points!)

Leave a Reply

