There Can Be Only One

Duncan McLeodRemember a television show from the 80s called “The Highlander”? The main character was a man named Duncan MacLeod, of the Clan MacLeod.

He is immortal. Born in the Highlands of Scotland four hundred years ago, he is not alone. There are others like him – some good, some evil. For centuries, he has battled the forces of darkness, with Holy Ground his only refuge. He cannot die, unless you take his head, and with it, his power. In the end, there can be only one. He is Duncan MacLeod, the Highlander.

I really loved that show (well, seriously, Adrian Paul. What woman my age didn’t love The Highlander?)

Imagine my surprise to learn the man I married comes from the same Scottish clan! He’s not Adrian Paul and he’s not immortal, but still… I married a McLeod! And he’s the only one to me. 🙂

Earlier this year, he asked if I’d make him something quilted featuring his traditional clan crest and motto, “Hold Fast.” I had his official tartan plaid printed at Spoonflower and created this appliquéd pillow:

Hold Fast Pillow

4 comments

    • whimziequiltz

      Thanks, Patti! I like the motto, too (though the sable bull head makes me laugh 😀 I learned it’s “cabossed”, or facing forward with no neck visible, which is my new favorite weird word.)

Leave a Reply

