Putting the “Bad” in Badminton

When I started Whimzie Quiltz 10 years ago, I had a webpage but not this blog, so there are lots of early quilts I haven’t posted. Since I’m celebrating my 10th anniversary, I thought I’d go back and share some of those stories, with a focus on “N ‘n’ N Quilts” – quilts I’ve made for my nieces and nephews.

The inspiration for this nephew’s quilt came from one of my all time favorite experiences with the kids.

A couple of years ago, my husband and I went to visit 5 of our nieces and nephews. The new baby stayed home, but we and the 4 oldest went vacationing at their lake house. You have to understand these are all VERY active kids and at one point in the weekend, it was suggested that everyone go outside to play a game of badminton since the net was already set up.

So we’re all outside, milling around, talking about how to choose up sides for a badminton game when our youngest nephew there pipes up, “I’ll take you ALL on!”

8 years old, 3 ft nothing at the time, and he’s wanting to play against not only his 3 older siblings, but his 6 ft 1 in uncle and his (much older, cough, cough) aunt, at the same time! Laughing, we’re all like, “Sure!”

We weren’t laughing for long.

Ultimately, he didn’t win. But the final score was a lot closer than it should have been given it was 5 against 1.

How could his quilt not commemorate such an attempt?

Badminton Quilt

In the end, it doesn’t matter whether he won or lost that badminton game. His ambition to take on all of us is what was worthy of a quilt. His effort is what made that afternoon the stuff of legend.

Since then, we’ve seen his ambition and effort pay off in so many other ways. Sports, of course, but also in school and band. And even in small things, like saving money to come visit us – so far, of all our nieces and nephews, he’s saved the most, the fastest!

In the years to come, his drive and determination will no doubt fuel other attempts at overcoming overwhelming odds. Win or lose, I suspect “the badminton game against the world” will not be the only legend eventually told about this nephew!

Leave a Reply

