Dash Away… Dash Away… Dash Away All!

Now Dasher! Now Dancer!
Now, Prancer and Vixen!
On, Comet! On, Cupid!
On, Donner and Blitzen!
To the top of the porch!
To the top of the wall!
Now dash away! Dash away!
Dash away all!

I wasn’t sure I was going to get this quilt done by Christmas, but it looks like Santa’s eight reindeer are finally ready for their big night. And Rudolph, with his red glitter button nose, is ready to guide the way!

Reindeer Quilt

Custom quilts have been keeping me so busy that this is the first quilt I’ve finished for myself in over a year. My inspiration was this blog post from 5 years ago by Darcy and the Boys. I went with a bright green and cheery red color scheme that better matches my holiday decor, though. And a lot of the fabric came from my stash, which is always nice. As usual, Embroidery by Shirley did a smashing job with the embroidered reindeer names.

Since it’s meant to be used as a wallhanging, I still hope to add some 3-dimensional elements around the reindeer’s necks. I can’t decide whether to make them 1) all the same with holly leaves and berries or make them 2) each different with ribbons, bows, holly, etc. Anyone want to weigh in on the great debate? 😀 Would appreciate some other creative peoples’ take…

One comment

  1. Pingback: No More NEKKID Reindeer | Snip-Itz

Leave a Reply

