So Much in Common – The “Me Too!” Quilt

When I started Whimzie Quiltz 10 years ago, I had a webpage but not this blog, so there are lots of early quilts I haven’t posted. Since I’m celebrating my 10th anniversary, I thought I’d go back and share some of those stories, with a focus on “N ‘n’ N Quilts” – quilts I’ve made for my nieces and nephews.

When I made this niece’s quilt, I focused a lot on what we had in common. What, you like cats? Me, too! And you like to craft? Me, too! And your favorite color is yellow? That was MY favorite color growing up, too!

So, basically, I made her the yellow quilt I would have wanted when I was a little girl. It features a lovely pieced tulip block and two cheeky checkerboard borders… and it’s yellow. Bright and beautiful yellow.

Yellow Tulips Quilt

As much as I like how the quilt links my niece and me through our common loves, now, though, I like to focus more on the ways we are different. I especially admire how she’s become a forthright and bold young woman (not the way someone would describe her aunt!) She’s never afraid to ask tough questions or take on tough jobs.

Some of her favorite things are big Broadway musicals. You know, the kind with a main character who belts out the climactic song so everyone, even the people way, way in the back of the theatre, can hear every note clearly. This is how I imagine my niece, except the whole world is her theatre – and everyone on earth is going to hear her when she grows up. She’s going to make a real difference.

And when she’s done changing the world, she can come back home, pet her cats, get out her crafting supplies and curl up in the warm yellow quilt her aunt made her.

Leave a Reply

