Bloomin’ Where She’s Planted

When I started Whimzie Quiltz 10 years ago, I had a webpage but not this blog, so there are lots of early quilts I haven’t posted. Since I’m celebrating my 10th anniversary, I thought I’d go back and share some of those stories, with a focus on “N ‘n’ N Quilts” – quilts I’ve made for my nieces and nephews.

A couple of years ago, we were invited to one of our niece’s ballet recitals.

All the little girls were moving across the stage in their carefully choreographed steps, some of them almost painfully serious in their determination to get it “right”. Then there was our niece, on the end, joyously dancing, getting every move “wrong”… and having the time the of her life.

That’s what I wanted to symbolize when it came time for her quilt. I didn’t want it to be perfectly pieced, with all the seams precisely fitted; the colors subdued and the design traditional. I wanted it to be joyous! Just like her.

I chose a pattern from Buggy Barn quilts, one of their trademarked “CraZy” quilt designs, called “Folk Art Flowers.” Their fantastically fun technique was the perfect way to capture how this little girl blooms where ever she’s planted…

Blossom Quilt

When I updated Whimzie Quiltz branding for my 10th anniversary in 2014, how could I not choose this niece’s quilt as my inspiration? Whimzie Quiltz is all about the joy you get from a custom, individualized quilt. Her quilt – and her spirit – will be a cheerful influence my business for the next 10 years!

See her quilt here in my Facebook background photo and my Flickr page header.

4 comments

  1. whimziequiltz

    Thanks, twoquiltsandachicken! I wish I had 9 lives like a cat as I’d spend one doing nothing but making Buggy Barn pattern quilts in bright colors (the originals tend towards country shades). They are so fun and turn out amazing!

Leave a Reply

