Her and All Her Enthusiasm

When I started Whimzie Quiltz 10 years ago, I had a webpage but not this blog, so there are lots of early quilts I haven’t posted. Since I’m celebrating my 10th anniversary, I thought I’d go back and share some of those stories, with a focus on “N ‘n’ N Quilts” – quilts I’ve made for my nieces and nephews.

Have you ever known a person who approaches everything in life with gusto?

The kind of person who wakes up every morning to grab the day with both hands and give it a giant bear hug. A person who you’d swear the phrase ‘Live out loud’ was coined specifically for. And any time you are around this person, you just can’t help but be swept up into their passion and zest for everything and everyone… that would be my niece Kaitlin.

When it came time to make her a quilt, I knew I wanted a dynamic design to reflect her F5 personality. No sedate Square in a Square or serene Irish Chain blocks here, it had to be Pinwheels. No muted country colors or pastels, either, it had to be bright and beautiful.

Thus was created “Give it a Whirl (Kaitlin’s Pinwheels)” – named for the niece who brings a joy-filled whirlwind into every life she touches.

Give it a Whirl

But you know what I love best about this quilt? The thank you note I got back…

Words absolutely can not describe the vibrance and beautifulness of my quilt! It shows me and all my enthusiasm.

Nailed it! 🙂

4 comments

    • whimziequiltz

      Thanks, Pillows A-La-Mode! It was one of my favorite early quilts, too. There’s a special ruler than can help with the pinwheels available now, but at the time, I did them all myself, and was, truthfully, a little surprised it came out so well!

  1. Pingback: Not Every Quilt’s a Winner | Snip-Itz

Leave a Reply

