Beach Glass Bond

When I started Whimzie Quiltz 10 years ago, I had a webpage but not this blog, so there are lots of early quilts I haven’t posted. Since I’m celebrating my 10th anniversary, I thought I’d go back and share some of those stories, with a focus on “N ‘n’ N Quilts” – quilts I’ve made for my nieces and nephews.

I was about to meet my future husband’s family for the first time. I wasn’t really nervous, except for one thing – he had nieces and nephews. I had never been the babysitting type, so I had zero experience with young kids. What on earth would I talk about with them?

Beach Glass Bond We arrived at the beach house his family was renting and everything was going fairly well. Somehow, over the course of our visit though, things quieted down and I ended up sitting in the living room alone with his pre-teen niece. Gulp!

Searching for something to talk about with her, I noticed a display of beach glass on the coffee table. I remarked how pretty the pieces were and she started sharing with me all the times she’d found beach glass herself. You know how excited kids can get when telling a story – all the different colors she’d found, all the different beaches she’d been to. She really seemed to love the sea and we actually talked for quite a while.

Later, we were all standing around outside saying our goodbyes. As I went to get in the car, she came running out from the house and stopped me. In her hand was a lovely blue scrap of beach glass.

“I wanted you to have a piece,” she said.

I clutched that piece of glass the whole way home.

Time passed, my husband and I married, I took up quilting and decided to make a quilt for each of our nieces and nephews (16 of them now!) When it came time to make this niece’s quilt I knew the perfect theme. Blue and green fabric shards on a sandy background represent our first meeting – when a shared appreciation for the beauty of beach glass bonded a nervous almost aunt and a wonderfully thoughtful little girl.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Not Every Quilt’s a Winner | Snip-Itz

Leave a Reply

