It’s Warmer on the Inside

Bow ties are cool. Fezzes are cool. Know what else is cool? This just finished Doctor Who Tardis quilt for customer Melissa E.

Tardis Quilt
This order actually started with a request for a Doctor Who pillow sham. Melissa contacted me to see if I’d be interested making one for her niece. If I’d be interested… um, HUGE Doctor Who fan here! I jumped on this project faster than a weeping angel can move when you blink.

I Dream in Gallifreyan Pillow ShamWe decided to go for something a little different, something you wouldn’t necessarily see in all the mass marketed Doctor Who merchandise. This “I Dream in Gallifreyan” design was the result.

Melissa loved the sham so much she asked me to make a coordinating Doctor Who twin quilt. I duplicated the “Gallifreyan” circles as the background and pieced the Tardis itself, using several different blues to get just the right dimension to the door panels.

And, boy, do I wish I could take credit for the wood grain quilting, but that idea was inspired by an extremely clever pinner on Pinterest. As Nine would say, “Fantastic!”

Best part of this whole Tardis quilt? It’s warmer on the inside 🙂

3 comments

    • whimziequiltz

      Hi Miranda – Thanks! It’s one of those quilts I almost kept for myself 😀 I don’t currently sell patterns, although I’m considering it in the future. However, I do have a PDF with just general measurements that I used for this quilt. I’d be happy to share that with you if you think it’ll help – email me at deidre [at] whimziequiltz.com Warm wishes, D

  1. Pingback: Home Sweet Holmes | Snip-Itz

Leave a Reply

