Hard Rock, Soft Quilt

When I started Whimzie Quiltz 10 years ago, I had a webpage but not this blog, so there are lots of early quilts I haven’t posted. Since I’m celebrating my 10th anniversary, I thought I’d go back and share some of those stories, with a focus on “N ‘n’ N Quilts” – quilts I’ve made for my nieces and nephews.

When I started quilting again as an adult, I already had several nieces and nephews, including one nephew almost an adult himself. While I had grown up on country and western and “rebelled” in my teens with Duran Duran 😀 his generation was into harder music; Marilyn Mason was particularly big at the time.

I decided his graduation present would be a t-shirt quilt (my first!) featuring metal bands.

Hard Rock, Soft Quilt

eBay was still fairly new back then and I was able to win a couple of auctions for Marilyn Mason shirts. But I quickly realized I couldn’t afford to fill out the whole quilt with new t-shirts, so I started visiting local thrift stores. Eventually, I ended up with 12 shirts – a few of which I now realize might not feature metal bands (Lit? Really?) and some might not even be bands at all! It’s the effort that counts, right? (And I’m sure he’s gotten some mileage out of the story of his clueless over-the-hill aunt picking out metal band shirts and getting it hilariously wrong…)

Since so many people wear their t-shirts with jeans, I used a dark wash denim as the setting fabric for the simple layout. I choose flannel for the batting so the quilt wouldn’t be too thick and I particularly pleased myself by cleverly using jean rivets to hold the quilt together instead of tying it!

My nephew was very happy with his gift and it started me thinking each of my nieces and nephews might want a quilt specially made by their Aunt D just for them. Still a pre-teen, the second oldest was definitely NOT into metal music, so what might she like? But more on that next month…

One comment

  1. Pingback: Not Every Quilt’s a Winner | Snip-Itz

Leave a Reply

