Welcome to My Web

Welcome to our Web ChalkboardHappy October!

To start the month off right, I wanted to share a number of frightfully delightful projects for the upcoming holiday that I’ve been working on. My goal is to make my home and the Whimzie Quiltz studio as eerie-sistible as possible this year. 😀

(BEWARE – not only are my Halloween puns pretty scary, but once you see some of these projects, you may want to make versions for yourself!)

First up is the entryway chalkboard you may have seen before – decked out with a howl-iday greeting. Someday, I want to learn how to do the really cool chalkboard fonts I’ve seen on Pinterest, but this will do in the meantime.

Halloween DisplayAlso in our entryway, I have this little display. It features my version of bat o’laterns (which I originally saw on Pinterest) and a set of quilted ‘Trick’ and ‘Treat’ pillows that I designed this year. And Oops! It looks like a wicked witch got caught flying under the radar – right in to a wall!

Trick Treat PillowsThe pillows were mostly made from scraps I had left over from custom orders, although I bought the evil eye fabric because I thought it was screamingly cute.

Witch LegsThe witch legs were quite the be-witching project! Well, using glitter in anything is pretty scary and, to be honest, these are shedding ALL over the floor, but I still had fun with them. The shoes were clearance heels at Target, with cardboard details and foil curls added, covered with masking tape and gesso and painted black before being glitter-ized. (See my inspiration here.) The thigh high socks are simply stuffed with polyester and fitted – carefully – into the shoes.

Bite MeKeeping with the purple and black color scheme are my ‘Bite Me’ bats. Each letter is made from scraps of fabric stretched over an embroidery hoop for the body and I added felt-backed wings on each side. Again, if I have to be honest, these didn’t turn out quite as boo-tiful as the idea in my head, but I still think they are pretty cute (especially when displayed next to last year’s Halloween countdown calendar – and, yes, I’ve already eaten October 1st’s chocolate.)

Halloween Display 2Nearby, I have another display with a couple more Pinterest inspirations. The ghastly bright eyeballs are foam balls on pipe cleaners, but I found some cool mad scientist beakers and jars to display them in. The fang-tastic vampire pumpkins were based on a Martha Stewart project.

Halloween Candleabra And finally, let me leave you with my favorite Halloween decor project (so far…)

Several months ago, I picked up a newel post at an architectural salvage place downtown. Wasn’t sure what I was going to do with it until I saw a candle chandelier on clearance at Wayfair. By putting them both together and painting the entire piece black, I scared up this spooktacular centerpiece. The crystals were part of the chandelier, but I added the draped black beads. I know you can find something similar to this at almost every store these days (for cheaper, too) but the fact that I made this one makes it way more special.

I’m hoping to find time to finish a few more projects before the clock strikes midnight on October 31st, but I’ve got a pretty good start on the thrills and chills of Halloween. Hope you are inspired to craft a bit mischief (or mayhem) this year, too!

One comment

Leave a Reply

