A Quilter’s Free Time

I found myself with a bit of free time late this week.  (I KNOW!  That never happens!)  

Didn’t really want to start a new work project as it was too close to the weekend, but there’s no such thing as sitting still when you are quilter.  So I decided to work on a few projects to brighten up my already bright sewing room…

First, I hung the button clock I’ve been working on in the evenings.

Pink & Orange Button Clock

I’ve had this clock forever and it’s been repainted many times to match many different rooms. This time I went with white and added pink and orange buttons for the minute markers. (If you look out the door, you can see the pink and orange button lampshade I made about six months ago, too!)

Next, I hung some bunting.

Pink & Orange Bunting

We’ve been in our new house over a year and I had yet to hang curtains in the Whimzie Quiltz sewing suite because I hadn’t figured out something ‘whimzical’ enough. 😀 But when I saw some pics of fabric bunting over at Pinterest, an idea finally clicked. I added in some big white buttons between the flags and some white flowers to the ends to finish it off.

And, finally, I made this adorable little dust cover for my sewing machine. It was also inspired by Pinterest (how did I ever survive before Pinterest?)

Pink & Orange Sewing Machine Cover

Believe it or not, that sewing machine cover went from a glimmer of an idea at 6 AM to “I can’t believe I have all the supplies” at 12 Noon to completely finished by 6 PM! Plus I managed to steam clean our downstairs tile floor, do two loads of laundry and get to the Post Office, too.

Not bad for a little free time, huh?

Leave a Reply

