Star Trek Quilts: To Boldly Go Where No Quilter Has Gone Before

Those of you who have followed my quilting for awhile may realize I have two mild (cough, cough) obsessions – the Kansas City Chiefs (root of my sports quilt bias) and televised sci-fi. From Doctor Who to Eureka, Primeval to Battlestar Galactica… I love them all.  But there always has been and always will be a special place in my heart for the Star Trek franchise.

So imagine how excited I was this weekend to receive deposits for not one, but TWO Star Trek themed quilts!

I’m not going to share the designs chosen here (that way they’ll be more of a surprise when I show the finished quilts), but I got so into it, I made three other designs that weren’t selected – which means these three quilt designs are still available if any other Trekkies are looking for a Star Trek quilt…

Star Trek: The Captain’s Table Quilt

(58″ x 58″; $375)  Features pieced uniforms from all 5 Star Trek series captains – Archer, Kirk, Picard, Sisko and Janeway.  I can also totally see 5 pillows with these designs!

Image

Star Trek:  To Boldly Go

(63″ x 63″; $450)  Great 60s-inspired graphic design with the classic Star Trek quote and a stylized Enterprise NCC-1701 machine appliquéd.

Image

Star Trek:  Deep Space 9 (My favorite series!)

(61.5″ x 61.5″; $425)  Machine appliqued emblems from each of the major alien species to appear (Federation, Bajoran, Klingon, Ferengi, Dominion and Cardassian) on a pieced star background.

Image

Leave a Reply

