What’s a Quilter to Do?

Quiltmaker’s Quilty Pleasures blog just posted a list of 100 Things Every Quilter Should Do. Naturally, I had to check off all the things I’ve done… 87 out of 100!

Solid B, nearly a B+. But here’s my way to an A…

Treadle Sewing Machine

I need to visit Houston for the International Quilt Festival and Paducah for the AQS show. I need to sew on a treadle machine and go on a quilt retreat. I need to creatively piece a backing for one of my quilts, make a mystery quilt and take part in a block exchange.

And here’s one that really interests me – I need to include quilts in my will! What a great idea. I’ve made a couple of really nice quilts that I’d love to stay in the family; just need to determine who gets them.

Getting those done will bring me up to 95 things every quilter should do. And there’s a few on the list I don’t want to do (really? learn the parts of a needle? knowing there’s an eye isn’t enough?) so I’m pretty happy with that.

How about you? How many things have you already checked off and what’s left for you to accomplish? And, most importantly, does anyone want to road trip from San Diego to Houston? :D

5 comments

  1. April

    Every quilter should … Teach a child to quilt. Make a raggedy quilt. Make a quilt for your pet. My dogs love theirs (usually for dinner)! And, Start your own quilting group. I have and we love it.

    • whimziequiltz

      Totally agree, April – I’ve done all those, except the raggedy quilt I made turned out so bad it went in the trash! Apparently, I’m only good at nice, normal ¼” seams :D

      • April

        I wish that my seams were even half “normal”. The raggedy quilt is very easy once you get the “sandwiches” made (I use flannel as the batting). Then you just have to remember that you need at least 1/2″ seams. I taught my 84 year old friend to make a raggedy quilt and she finished in in an hour (after the 6 1/2″ squares were cut). You shouldn’t have thrown yours out though. You could always use it for a bathroom rug.

Leave a Reply

